Header Logo

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Allred Dental

Many San Marcos, CA dental patients who have consulted and worked with Dr. Jeffrey Allred believe he is one of the best dentists in the area. These patients have gone online to provide our office with useful feedback about their experience with us, as well as their results, and we have compiled them all into one location for easy browsing. We hope these dental reviews and testimonials help others who might be in the process of discovering the best dentist or procedure for them. At Allred Dental, we want you to feel comfortable and trust that you are receiving the best results possible, and we feel confident that Dr. Allred can get you the outcome you desire. We invite you to browse our reviews to learn more about how Dr. Allred has helped transform his patients' smiles. 

Filter46 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from A.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 07, 2018

From the time the receptionist answered the phone to the time I walked out the door, I was treated very professionally from the entire staff at Allred Dental. You can expect a friendly voice from Ellen when you call to make your appointment and when you walk in the door. After a very thorough photo session of my teeth, the dental assistant walked me through a tour of my mouth asking me a lot of questions and telling me what was going on with my teeth. When Dr Allred came in, a thorough recap in her findings was presented to him and me. From there he checked himself, agreed with everything she said and had a couple additional points. Then on to my cleaning which was a breeze.  They really take care to insure your comfort.  Great dental experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 22, 2018

I went to another dentist first.  Mission Dental. My bridge cracked and the doctor gave me an estimate of over 7000 to replace the bridge. They said to me. Good luck in finding someone who will do what you want   I found Dr Allred in a Google search and boy. Am I glad. Very modern equipment. They are so thorough. Not rushed. I really would recommend them to anyone More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 16, 2018

Best dentist I've ever had. Staff is great, and Dr Allred is friendly and skilled. I'll never switch to another dentist! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 01, 2017

Dr. Allred is amazing at what he does. I didn't even feel the shots and he banged out 8 cavities in one sitting for me. It was impressive to say the least. Thanks Jeff! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 08, 2017

I have not seen a better dentist since 2002! I have had some pretty bad experiences in the past but Dr. Allred turned that all around today. He and the staff (front desk and assisstants included) are all super calm, friendly, and reassuring. I felt like I was a family member.I am pretty sure I asked an annoying amount of questions and I always got a detailed answer and never felt rushed. Literally the most thourough dentist I've ever had. I have been pretty scared of going to the dentist for nearly 15 years but Dr. Allred completely turn my fear around. I cant say enough good things. I have definitely found my life-long dentist! Thank You Allred Dental!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 07, 2017

I have not seen a better dentist since 2002! I have had some pretty bad experiences in the past but Dr. Allred turned that all around today. He and the staff (front desk and assisstants included) are all super calm, friendly, and reassuring. I felt like I was a family member. I am pretty sure I asked an annoying amount of questions and I always got a detailed answer and never felt rushed. Literally the most thourough dentist I've ever had. I have been pretty scared of going to the dentist for nearly 15 years but Dr. Allred completely turn my fear around. I cant say enough good things. I have definitely found my life-long dentist! Thank You Allred Dental!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 24, 2017

I have had such a good experience at Allred Dental. The whole team- Ellen, Aimee,Claudia and Alexis are all fantastic. Originally, they were able to fit me in immediately to rebond a crown that had come loose. I chose to come back for a complete exam based on their professionalism and attention to detail. Dr. Allred gave me a clear treatment plan to reduce my gum/pocket depths and the front desk gave some very workable payment plans. Dr. Allred and Alexis also gave me some great tips (beyond the basics) on home care to improve my gum health. I highly recommend their office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 14, 2016

Dr. Allred has been my family's dentist for 4 years and we have no complaints. He only recommends necessary treatment and I am very pleased with his work. His prices are reasonable. His staff is always so friendly and they remember things about us like we are old friends. His new hygienist Alexis is gentle and thorough. He provides complete care, from general dentistry to implants to Invisalign. I am impressed with his breadth of knowledge as well as the high tech equipment he has in office. Finally, he is a good family man. I don't like having to go to the dentist but since I have to go, I would not go anywhere else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 16, 2016

Dr. Allred did an excellent job of diagnosing immediately helping ease the pain and complications that I had from a previous root canal.  He explained the procedure of performing another root canal through my existing crown and made what could have been a disaster a pretty painless procedure.  Dr. Allred and the office staff were helpful, inviting, and professional in their work. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 05, 2016

Wow ! As a young college girl with no experience at any other dentist office then the one in my home town, Allred was AMAZING. The lady at the front desk was THE SWEETEST, took care of my insurance, and was so helpful it was unbelievable.  The dental staff there is SO CUTE. Super sweet, young, and so helpful. They each put my fears aside, and were so gentle. They took the time to explain exactly what they were doing to me, and why I needed to do certain things. Everyone is full of humor and happiness, and I went from dreading my appointment to actually looking forward to seeing these individuals. I would recommend them to ANYONE.P.S : The message chair has a butt message setting ... LOVE!! PERFECT DENTIST AND STAFF . LOVE LOVE LOVE . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 05, 2016

Wow ! As a young college girl with no experience at any other dentist office then the one in my home town, Allred was AMAZING. The lady at the front desk was THE SWEETEST, took care of my insurance, and was so helpful it was unbelievable.  The dental staff there is SO CUTE. Super sweet, young, and so helpful. They each put my fears aside, and were so gentle. They took the time to explain exactly what they were doing to me, and why I needed to do certain things. Everyone is full of humor and happiness, and I went from dreading my appointment to actually looking forward to seeing these individuals. I would recommend them to ANYONE. P.S : The message chair has a butt message setting ... LOVE!! PERFECT DENTIST AND STAFF . LOVE LOVE LOVE . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 03, 2016

I've been very happy with this office. My kids and I have been treated very well and they are very accommodating for last minute appointments. They use the latest technology even have a massage chair and head phones to listen to your fav tunes. They are always concerned about your comfort also offering a blanket if you need one. The hygienist, assistants and front desk always professional and kind. And of course Dr. Allred explains everything and is gentle with fragile patients like myself. Highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 26, 2016

Dr Allred fixed a botched job from another dentist and did it with reasonable pricing.  Then I cracked a tooth and he used his 3D scan to find out exactly why I was having pain.  Dr Allred then chose the course of treatment that was quick and painless even though it was surgery.  This guy can do it all from surgery, implants and more.  He's a great guy I found here in San Marcos and I highly recommend him over other San Marcos dentists I've used -  Craig More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 13, 2016

My family couldn't be happier with the level of care and service from all the staff at Allred Dental.  Highly recommended if you're looking for a new dentist.  Highly recommended even if you have a dentist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 02, 2015

After relocating from the LA area to San Diego 3 years ago, I decided it was getting ridiculous to drive 2 hours to my former, life-long dentist. As someone who doesn't like change (or going to any sort of doctor), I Yelp-researched my way to Dr. Allred's office, which received a 5-star review status. Today was my first appointment and it was a super pleasant experience, coming from a semi-nervous patient. I now realize how old-school my former dentist was, because this office does so many high-tech scans, x-rays, etc. to get the full scope of your mouth, teeth, bite, jaw, etc. I felt very informed about my current dental health (which was pretty darn good, to my relief)! Customer service was A+++, from my first call to discuss an appointment to meeting the staff and Dr. Allred. I appreciated the warm, calming and open environment of the office - very nice touch! Also, my appointment started right on time. The Dental Hygienist was super gentle and even shaved down part of an old filling that was not allowing me to floss properly. Dr. Allred was professional and friendly, and really explained everything well. My mouth is pretty healthy, so I left without any issues after my cleaning, but I now know when something does go wrong, I have a great (local!) dentist who I can trust to help me. I plan on bringing my husband over and have already recommended this office to others.   Thank you for reminding me that sometimes change can be a good thing. I may not ever get over my dental phobia completely, but this office is as good as it gets for me. : ) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 02, 2015

After relocating from the LA area to San Diego 3 years ago, I decided it was getting ridiculous to drive 2 hours to my former, life-long dentist. As someone who doesn't like change (or going to any sort of doctor), I Yelp-researched my way to Dr. Allred's office, which received a 5-star review status. Today was my first appointment and it was a super pleasant experience, coming from a semi-nervous patient. I now realize how old-school my former dentist was, because this office does so many high-tech scans, x-rays, etc. to get the full scope of your mouth, teeth, bite, jaw, etc. I felt very informed about my current dental health (which was pretty darn good, to my relief)! Customer service was A+++, from my first call to discuss an appointment to meeting the staff and Dr. Allred. I appreciated the warm, calming and open environment of the office - very nice touch! Also, my appointment started right on time. The Dental Hygienist was super gentle and even shaved down part of an old filling that was not allowing me to floss properly. Dr. Allred was professional and friendly, and really explained everything well. My mouth is pretty healthy, so I left without any issues after my cleaning, but I now know when something does go wrong, I have a great (local!) dentist who I can trust to help me. I plan on bringing my husband over and have already recommended this office to others.  Thank you for reminding me that sometimes change can be a good thing. I may not ever get over my dental phobia completely, but this office is as good as it gets for me. : ) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 19, 2015

Very happy with Dr. Allred's work.   He fixed a front chipped tooth of mine and it looks perfect.  His hygienist is wonderful.  Everyone in the office is super nice.   I now look forward to cleanings. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 16, 2015

I've seen a lot of dentists in my day and Dr Allred is definitely the best. Besides being a very caring person he's professional, gentle, and does beautiful work. Along with all that he has integrity. He really does stand behind his work. I know this from personal experience. If you're worried about pain, I can say that I've had quite a bit of work done and no pain. Zero! His office is very comfortable and modern. The equipment is also very up to date. The hygienist, Tawny, is great and had some very helpful suggestions. Heather, the receptionist, went out of her way to help me get some reasonable financing so that I could get the work I needed done. I feel lucky to have found Dr Allred and his staff and highly recommend them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 17, 2015

Fantastic experience in such terrible conditions. Typically going to the dentist is terrible, but I got my wisdom teeth out by Dr. Allred and experienced practically no discomfort and only had to take one ibuprofen following the surgery. Pricing is very reasonable and the facility is high quality. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 05, 2015

I can't say enough about this practice. Excellent service, beautiful office, friendly competent staff, gentle yet quick and punctual doctor. I got an implant on a front tooth and he made it so easy on me. I was definitely pleasantly surprised by how painless and fast the procedure was. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 29, 2015

This is an excellent dental practice - comfortable environment, very friendly staff, highly trained professionals.  They are gentle :) with cleanings and exams and Dr. Allred is very professional.  They even give you wireless headphones with your choice of music if you don't like the sounds during the dental work.  Excellent with kids, too.  Highly recommended for people of all ages. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.V.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 25, 2015

One of the worst things you have to do growing up... getting your wisdom teeth out. Not only, it is really close to my house, but the office is beautiful! I thought all their technology stuff was pretty cool and nifty.Anyways, I came in for a free consultation on the same day I called in. Everything was explained thoroughly especially to a college student. When I got the procedure done, they made me feel comfortable as possible and even called the next day to see how I was doing. Talk about great service! Even though I had some problems with my teeth during the healing process they did everything that they could so that I wasn't in pain. I highly recommend Dr. Allred and his staff to all the locals of San Marcos :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.V.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 25, 2015

One of the worst things you have to do growing up... getting your wisdom teeth out. Not only, it is really close to my house, but the office is beautiful! I thought all their technology stuff was pretty cool and nifty. Anyways, I came in for a free consultation on the same day I called in. Everything was explained thoroughly especially to a college student. When I got the procedure done, they made me feel comfortable as possible and even called the next day to see how I was doing. Talk about great service! Even though I had some problems with my teeth during the healing process they did everything that they could so that I wasn't in pain. I highly recommend Dr. Allred and his staff to all the locals of San Marcos :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 15, 2015

Dr. Allred and his staff are the best in dentistry.  Their office is state-of-the-art, and his staff is warm and welcoming.   Dr.Allred will give you several cost-effective options with dental procedures, and I trust him with my smile!   Kimberly B.   San Marcos More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 28, 2014

I was recommended to Allred Dental by my neighbor, and I'm happy to report it was a great recommendation!  The whole operation is top-notch, being able to fill out my paperwork on-line prior to my first visit was a treat, and the office staff couldn't be more knowledgeable, kind and helpful.My first visit went great!  We took some X-rays, some photos, did a little background info stuff, and then dove into the cleaning.  It seems like they have all the latest and greatest stuff there - this office had more gizmos and devices than my old dentist did, by far.  Getting the X-rays done was far more pleasant than it's been int he past, there wasn't any biting down on some plate that cut my tongue or roof of my mouth, the whole process took about 2 minutes, and was completed while I was sitting in the same seat I would eventually get a cleaning in.  The cleaning was amazing, and I could definitely tell my teeth were a whole hell of a lot cleaner than they had been the last few times I had a cleaning done at my old dentist.We talked a little bit about some potential issues I had, and the awesome thing about it was they weren't all super hyper about it, and they didn't make me feel like I was some sort of derelict because I don't brush and floss like 15 times a day.  They acknowledged some of the things that my old dentist had pointed out, but didn't make it sound like all my teeth were going to fall out next week if I didn't make an immediate change.  It really made me realize how much of a kook my old dentist was.  It was very nice to be able to talk to folks about my teeth in a calm, rational manner.They gave me some advice on things I should probably be doing, but it wasn't high-pressure stuff at all.  Super great.I scheduled a subsequent visit to get a chip in one of my teeth fixed, and I could not be any happier than I am with how well the repair feels in my mouth.  The last time I got it fixed I could definitely tell that something was off, and the thing popped off within the first couple of months.  This thing feels great, and I hope it lasts quite a while.This may sound more like a review about how crappy my old dentist was - but honestly, it's not.  I was actually fairly happy with them.  I think it's just that I'm so much more impressed with what the folks at Allred have going on, it really puts what the old goof was doing in perspective.  If you need a dentist, I would highly recommend them!  A+! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 28, 2014

I was recommended to Allred Dental by my neighbor, and I'm happy to report it was a great recommendation!  The whole operation is top-notch, being able to fill out my paperwork on-line prior to my first visit was a treat, and the office staff couldn't be more knowledgeable, kind and helpful. My first visit went great!  We took some X-rays, some photos, did a little background info stuff, and then dove into the cleaning.  It seems like they have all the latest and greatest stuff there - this office had more gizmos and devices than my old dentist did, by far.  Getting the X-rays done was far more pleasant than it's been int he past, there wasn't any biting down on some plate that cut my tongue or roof of my mouth, the whole process took about 2 minutes, and was completed while I was sitting in the same seat I would eventually get a cleaning in.  The cleaning was amazing, and I could definitely tell my teeth were a whole hell of a lot cleaner than they had been the last few times I had a cleaning done at my old dentist. We talked a little bit about some potential issues I had, and the awesome thing about it was they weren't all super hyper about it, and they didn't make me feel like I was some sort of derelict because I don't brush and floss like 15 times a day.  They acknowledged some of the things that my old dentist had pointed out, but didn't make it sound like all my teeth were going to fall out next week if I didn't make an immediate change.  It really made me realize how much of a kook my old dentist was.  It was very nice to be able to talk to folks about my teeth in a calm, rational manner. They gave me some advice on things I should probably be doing, but it wasn't high-pressure stuff at all.  Super great. I scheduled a subsequent visit to get a chip in one of my teeth fixed, and I could not be any happier than I am with how well the repair feels in my mouth.  The last time I got it fixed I could definitely tell that something was off, and the thing popped off within the first couple of months.  This thing feels great, and I hope it lasts quite a while. This may sound more like a review about how crappy my old dentist was - but honestly, it's not.  I was actually fairly happy with them.  I think it's just that I'm so much more impressed with what the folks at Allred have going on, it really puts what the old goof was doing in perspective.   If you need a dentist, I would highly recommend them!  A+! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 25, 2014

Allred Dental is awesome! I've been going there for years. They take care of my whole family. I like to promote small local businesses that go out of their way to take care of their customers and Allred Dental is one of those businesses. If you're looking for a good dentist I highly recommend Dr. Allred and his team. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 23, 2014

I will be recommending this office to anyone that is inquiring about a dentist. I switched to Dr Allred's office after going to a different dental practice in the area. I have a fear of the dentist and had been putting off going for too long. I had my teeth cleaned yesterday and honestly was the best experience I had ever had going to the dentist. The staff listen to their patients and do everything they can to make your visit as comfortable as possible!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 16, 2014

First and foremost....Tawny the hygienist is fabulous!!Their new office is gorgeous and of course Dr. Jeff is just as awesome as ever.You will love this office, I come from Temecula to have my dental work done here, they are very accommodating, super friendly and very professional!Love you guys More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 18, 2014

Best dentist in San Marcos! Awesome staff,easy to make appointments,very clean, and modern. I would definitely recommend going here! A++ More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 14, 2013

I was recommended to Dr. Allred by Zoe B. She had heard me complain time and time again about not being happy with my previous dentists. She told me she had found Dr. Allred and to give him a try. So, I did.First, I get really nervous every time I visit any dentist. My tongue seems to have a mind of it's own making it super hard and difficult for any dentist to work on me. Most of them get frustrated and annoyed at me. Ah then there's Dr. Allred he has been so patient and extremely nice to me and my crazy tongue. I know, what am I 5yrs old? No, I just don't know how to relax and have control over my own tongue. Crazy!! Dr. Allred is friendly, knowledgeable and will ALWAYS make you happy with whatever procedure you do. I had veneers done because I grind my teeth at night. The grinding is so bad that my teeth were down to nothing with major gaps. Now my smile looks great!  Thanks to Dr. Allred.He is one of the best dentist I have been to and it's willingness to work with you and explain every detail of any procedure.  And to be honest that's what makes him top notch on my list.So happy and blessed to have been referred to him. If you are looking for a dentist that makes you comfortable and that is nice, knowledgeable and handsome?  (a big bonus) ;-)Look no further. Now let's talk about the staff always friendly and welcoming. Clean office what more can you ask for?If you're in the area and looking for a dentist? Dr. Allred is the one to turn. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 07, 2013

I'm new to Southern California and I needed to find a dentist. I checked yelp and saw Dr. Allred's 5 star rank. I can say they all hold up to that 5 star experience at their office. The receptionist is so nice and will go out of her way to help you get the dental care you need or want, and the assistants are nice and make you feel comfortable during cleanings. And of course, Dr. Allred is so nice and really good at what he does. They found an "almost" cavity and prevented me from ever needing a root canal. As long as I live in San Diego county I will go to Dr. Allred for my cosmetic and hygienic dental care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 03, 2013

I am by no means a fan of having my teeth worked on but I am new to the area and I would drive quite a ways back to my old dentist because I was comfortable with him and scared to start up with a new dentist but I was neglecting my teeth. I was referred to Dr Allred so I made an appointment. I have to say it was a great experience. They made me feel very comfortable and explained everything beforehand. Put all my fears to rest. It was easy to get an appointment and they accept my insurance. I've seen some of the work that he has performed on others and it is exceptional. I need to get implants so they checked on my insurance and researched what my out of pocket is going to be. He uses the latest technologies. I highly recommend Dr Allred and his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 13, 2013

Being new to the area, one of the tasks I dreaded most was finding a new dentist.  Fortunately, I met Dr. Allred and won't be looking any further.  Not only is he extremely professional, knowledgable, and gentle, but his office and staff are also stellar.  Previously I had always loathed going to the dentist, but I won't mind so much at this place.  My cleaning was near painless, and the recommendations that were made didn't include any unnecessary procedures to drive up the bill.  Great service for a good price, not much else you could ask for! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 10, 2013

Dr Allred is a fantastic dentist and an all around good guy.  I never feel nervous and he's very good at what he does.  I'd highly recommend him to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 29, 2012

Dr. Allred is a consummate professional and a great guy. He has a nice bedside (chairside?) manner. And his dentistry is at a very high level. I have long had an aversion to dentists due to a very poor one that I had as a kid. Dr. Allred's professional staff immediately makes you feel at home. Both the front office ladies and the folks working in the back are friendly and focused. His office is beautiful. I had my teeth whitened by the doctor and the level of care was superb. I know I sound like I am raving (I may be), but Dr. Allred is the best dentist I have gone to.I am active-duty Navy and I really wish he was a Navy doc! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 29, 2012

Dr. Allred is a consummate professional and a great guy. He has a nice bedside (chairside?) manner. And his dentistry is at a very high level. I have long had an aversion to dentists due to a very poor one that I had as a kid. Dr. Allred's professional staff immediately makes you feel at home. Both the front office ladies and the folks working in the back are friendly and focused. His office is beautiful. I had my teeth whitened by the doctor and the level of care was superb. I know I sound like I am raving (I may be), but Dr. Allred is the best dentist I have gone to. I am active-duty Navy and I really wish he was a Navy doc! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Z.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 01, 2012

I first met Dr. Allred when he was consulting at a different dentist office. I found him very knowledgeable and willing to explain everything to you. When he left that dentist office and they had a different dentist consult with me, the difference was remarkable. The second dentist just didn't seem experienced and was a little eager to jump into recommending the expensive procedure.When I learned Dr. Allred had his own practice, I was willing to make the drive all the way to San Marcos to find him. The office is modern, very clean, and the chairs are actually pretty comfortable, both in the waiting room and in the procedure rooms. All the staff members were not just courteous, but very friendly as well. All smiles for you and willing to laugh.Apparently my nighttime teeth grinding was worse than I thought, because I ground through the enamel of my back molars and they needed repair. The other dentist immediately recommended two crowns, which would have amounted to around $3000 before insurance. That seemed a little extreme to me, so I got a second opinion from Dr. Allred. He thought crowns were a little "aggressive" for the amount of damage being repaired, and instead recommended onlays. That was the moment I decided the extra 20-minute drive was worth the trouble. (My previous dental office was right next door to where I work.) So I made an appointment to have him fix my ground-up teeth.The day of the procedure, he said one tooth was not as bad as the other, and that a filling would fix it just fine. This made my visit even cheaper!  The total would come to just over $600 before insurance. I was amazed. This dentist is not the kind eager to recommend expensive procedures to you, even though he is perfectly capable of them. He is there to help you within your budget. He also knows his stuff. He offered explanations for my nightly grinding that no other dentist or even the internet ever offered (occlusal disease - where your bite is off and your jaw muscles unconsciously try to correct it).It's hard to find doctors and dentists who like to get to the source of the problems rather than simply treating your symptoms. I highly recommend Dr. Allred. Your teeth are very important to your happiness and well being, so he is worth the trip! His office is called Allred Dental and it's near Fry's Electronics in San Marcos. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Z.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 01, 2012

I first met Dr. Allred when he was consulting at a different dentist office. I found him very knowledgeable and willing to explain everything to you. When he left that dentist office and they had a different dentist consult with me, the difference was remarkable. The second dentist just didn't seem experienced and was a little eager to jump into recommending the expensive procedure. When I learned Dr. Allred had his own practice, I was willing to make the drive all the way to San Marcos to find him. The office is modern, very clean, and the chairs are actually pretty comfortable, both in the waiting room and in the procedure rooms. All the staff members were not just courteous, but very friendly as well. All smiles for you and willing to laugh. Apparently my nighttime teeth grinding was worse than I thought, because I ground through the enamel of my back molars and they needed repair. The other dentist immediately recommended two crowns, which would have amounted to around $3000 before insurance. That seemed a little extreme to me, so I got a second opinion from Dr. Allred. He thought crowns were a little "aggressive" for the amount of damage being repaired, and instead recommended onlays. That was the moment I decided the extra 20-minute drive was worth the trouble. (My previous dental office was right next door to where I work.) So I made an appointment to have him fix my ground-up teeth. The day of the procedure, he said one tooth was not as bad as the other, and that a filling would fix it just fine. This made my visit even cheaper!  The total would come to just over $600 before insurance. I was amazed. This dentist is not the kind eager to recommend expensive procedures to you, even though he is perfectly capable of them. He is there to help you within your budget. He also knows his stuff. He offered explanations for my nightly grinding that no other dentist or even the internet ever offered (occlusal disease - where your bite is off and your jaw muscles unconsciously try to correct it). It's hard to find doctors and dentists who like to get to the source of the problems rather than simply treating your symptoms. I highly recommend Dr. Allred. Your teeth are very important to your happiness and well being, so he is worth the trip! His office is called Allred Dental and it's near Fry's Electronics in San Marcos. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 09, 2012

I purchased a "Groupon" type deal for this office and was really happy with my experience.  They have very modern equipment which made the x-rays, examination and cleanings very gentle yet effective.  I had two cavities filled and was given a cash discount based on the package I purchased so it was very reasonable.  Dr. Allred is quite personable and makes you feel really relaxed throughout the procedures.  I highly recommend this office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 25, 2011

Me and my fiance both go to Dr. Allred and we will never go anywhere else. I will one day bring my kids there. He is such a family oriented, caring and gentle man. So glad to have found him! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 18, 2011

In my 50+ years and in the 6+ different areas of the country where I have lived, I have been to at least 6 different dentists. It's not that I don't like dentists - it's just an uncomfortable situation."Dr. J." has a gentle touch and is as honest as the day is long - doesn't try to pour any more dentistry into your mouth than is necessary.Honest, gentle, patient and professional - what more can you ask for in dentistry? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 18, 2011

In my 50+ years and in the 6+ different areas of the country where I have lived, I have been to at least 6 different dentists. It's not that I don't like dentists - it's just an uncomfortable situation. "Dr. J." has a gentle touch and is as honest as the day is long - doesn't try to pour any more dentistry into your mouth than is necessary. Honest, gentle, patient and professional - what more can you ask for in dentistry? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 16, 2010

I'm not usually one to give a 5 star rating to a dentist, but Dr. Allred has been amazing! As soon as I met with him all my usual worries about the dentist were alleviated. You can just tell that he is a family man that is passionate about what he does and is willing to work with you to make you comfortable at a price that is actually affordable. While he has been great with my relatively healthy mouth, the real testimony comes from others I know have seen him that have had a LOT of dental problems. From friends that are petrified of the dentist to acquaintances that have lost almost all their teeth - not matter how bad, Dr. Allred makes everyone feel welcome and accepted. I put my full trust into my referral of Total Smile Family Dental. They take care of you as if you are family. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 26, 2010

This place is far from where I live, but, the Dr. and staff are pretty cool and nice. The assistant is hilarious. They have a massive huge MAC screen, which I totally want now. And the x-ray machine they took on me looks like a portable blow dryer.The place looks clean. The only gripe I have is that the magazines are news types, I like the gossip People magazines. Oh wells.He is a nice guy, not trying to give you dental stuff you don't need just to make a buck. So I felt he's the real deal.And their door slides! Japanish??So it was worth the drive. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 26, 2010

This place is far from where I live, but, the Dr. and staff are pretty cool and nice. The assistant is hilarious. They have a massive huge MAC screen, which I totally want now. And the x-ray machine they took on me looks like a portable blow dryer. The place looks clean. The only gripe I have is that the magazines are news types, I like the gossip People magazines. Oh wells. He is a nice guy, not trying to give you dental stuff you don't need just to make a buck. So I felt he's the real deal. And their door slides! Japanish?? So it was worth the drive. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.